The Cottage
The Cottage
The Way
10
0:00
-34:14

The Way

Secret Garden, Episode 3
10

Hi Cottagers!

Welcome to this open episode of my private podcast, The Secret Garden.

This morning, I preached at Platte Woods United Methodist Church in Kansas City. They’ve been doing a sermon and education series on Freeing Jesus - and they asked me to come and finish up their study of the book. (They did a wonderful job with turning the book into a series. I’m grateful!)

The sermon is called Jesus is the Way. It is based on a very familiar and often abused text from John’s Gospel: “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” In my reflections, I turn the standard reading on its head. If you’ve struggled with this verse, you won’t want to miss it! (Also, I recorded this on my phone and posted while sitting in the Kansas City airport! Please excuse any issues of quality in advance.)

The Secret Garden is usually for paid subscribers only. But I hope that many of you will benefit from this sermon - so it is open to all. Feel free to share it as well!

The ending benediction:

It is a blessing to give up our need to control that comes from fear - and instead travel a path more deeply into love, to do the work of mercy and justice.

Jesus said to his friends, “I am the way, the truth, and the life.”

The Way is Love.
The Truth is Love.
Life is Love.

Walk in love. Follow the way of love. Always.

That’s my prayer for you this Sunday.


Leave a comment

Share


Today’s email is free to everyone at the Cottage - and everyone you share it with! The Cottage is a place for faith different - beyond denominational and sectarian lines - for people who love their faith communities and those who are questioning - where inspiration meets information to enrich our hearts and grow in understanding of faith, spirituality, and religion in these chaotic days. We’re holding onto one another as we dream of a world of deeper love and wider justice.

But there’s even more to the Cottage than the newsletter! You can join the Cottage community as a supporting participant.

Subscribers support my writing financially (I’m a freelancer, independent scholar, and itinerant teacher) - enabling me to develop online resources -and donate so that others can join the community. There are occasional members-only posts, access to The Secret Garden (a private podcast!), and the opportunity to participate in monthly Zoom gatherings. Click the button “subscribe now” for more information.


10 Comments
The Cottage
The Cottage
Part retreat, part think tank. A place for inspiration and ideas about culture, faith, and spirit.